PUBLIC HEARING ON THE PROPOSED USE OF SAVE FUNDS NOVEMBER 21, 2022

Board President R. Johnson called the hearing on the proposed use of SAVE funds for Athletic Facility to order at 6:00 p.m.

Members present: R. Johnson, Burgardt, A. Johnson, Harle, Deutsch, and Wilson. Absent: Bixel. Others present: Superintendent Kronemann, Business Mgr. DeGroote, Principals Peterson and DeHart, and a few students.

Discussion was had on the proposed use of SAVE funds for Athletic Facility.	
Motion by A. Johnson, seconded by Harle, to adjo	ourn public hearing at 6:01 p.m. Carried: 6-0
Ryan Johnson, President	Beth DeGroote, Board Secretary

REGULAR MEETING WEST HANCOCK BOARD OF DIRECTORS November 21, 2022

The West Hancock Community School Board of Directors met in regular session in the West Hancock High School Boardroom. Board President R. Johnson called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m.

Members present: R. Johnson, Deutsch, Burgardt, A. Johnson, Harle and Wilson. Bixel arrived at 6:26 p.m. Others present: Superintendent Kronemann, Business Mgr. DeGroote, Principal Peterson, Principal DeHart, staff members representing the foreign language program, and a few students. Principal Verbrugge arrived at 7:13 p.m.

Motion by Harle seconded by Wilson, to approve the items listed under the consent agenda and bank records. Carried: 6-0, Absent: Bixel

Presentation by Foreign Language staff.

Administrative reports were given.

SIAC report was given to include class data.

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by A. Johnson, to adjourn the meeting at 7:17 p.m. Carried: 7-0

Annual Meeting of the West Hancock Community School Board of Directors.

Bd. Sec. DeGroote called the meeting to order at 7:17 p.m.

Members present: R. Johnson, Deutsch, Burgardt, A. Johnson, Harle, Wilson, and Bixel. Others present: Superintendent Kronemann, Business Mgr. DeGroote, Principal Peterson, Principal DeHart, Principal Verbrugge, and a few students.

Sec. DeGroote called for nominations for the office of president. Nomination by Burgardt for R. Johnson to remain as board president, second by A. Johnson

Nominations ceased and a unanimous ballot was cast for R. Johnson, to remain as board president. Carried: 7-0

Bd. Sec. DeGroote administered the oath of office to Pres. Johnson.

President called for nominations for vice-president. Nomination by A. Johnson for Wilson as board vice President. Nomination by Burgardt for Deutsch as board vice president.

Nominations ceased and ballots were cast. Wilson was nominated as board vice president. Carried: 7-0

Board President R. Johnson administered the oath of office to Vice Pres. Wilson.

Burgardt was appointed to represent West Hancock on the Hancock County Conference Board. Committee board volunteers were appointed as follows.

Board volunteers:

- 1. Transportation committee A. Johnson & Bixel
- 2. Policy Harle & Wilson
- 3. School improvement committee Bixel & Deutsch
- 4. Collaborative Bargaining committee Harle & A. Johnson
- 5. Building and Grounds committee R Johnson & Burgardt
- 6. Technology R Johnson & Wilson
- 7. Finance Committee Deutsch & Burgardt
- 8. Hancock County Conference Board Burgardt
- 9. Wright County Conference Board- Bixel

Motion by A. Johnson, seconded by Harle, to approve Paula Smith as part-time Custodian. Carried: 7-0.

Motion by Burgardt, seconded by Deutsch, to accept the resignation of Sybil Johnson. Carried: 7-0.

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by Wilson, to accept the resignation from Kelly Piper. Carried: 7-0.

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by Wilson, to approve Mizpa Martinez as ELL Para. Carried: 7-0.

Motion by Wilson seconded by A. Johnson, to approve Gerardo Ibarra for Volunteer Boys' Basketball Coach for the 22-23 school year. Carried: 7-0.

Motion by Harle, seconded by Deutsch, to approve applying for modified allowable growth through the SBRC for the MSA amount of \$72,270 for Open enrollment out students who were not on our certified enrollment count the previous fall. Carried: 7-0

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by Bixel, to approve applying for modified allowable growth through the SBRC for the MSA amount of \$17,124.03 for ELL students beyond 5 years. Carried: 7-0

Second reading of the following policies: 400, 600, and 800 series.

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by Bixel, to approve the second and final reading of selected board policies within the series listed above. Carried: 7-0.

Motion by Burgardt, seconded by A. Johnson, to approve applying for the modified allowable growth through the SBRC for \$12,138.36 for LEP program. Carried: 7-0

Motion by Harle, seconded by Deutsch, to approve the Resolution to use SAVE Funds for Athletic Facility. The roll was called and the vote was: Ayes: Bixel, Harle, Deutsch, R. Johnson, Burgardt, Wilson, A. Johnson. Nays: None.

Motion by Harle, seconded by Deutsch, to approve \$17,000 PERL Funds to Britt Park and Recreation. Carried: 7-0

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by Wilson, to approve a \$3,000 hiring bonus prorated and a \$500 retention bonus for hourly employees for the 22-23 school year. Carried: 7-0.

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by A. J	ohnson, to adjourn the meeting at 7:53 p.m. Carried: 7-0
Ryan Johnson, President	Beth DeGroote, Board Secretary