## REGULAR MEETING WEST HANCOCK BOARD OF DIRECTORS AUGUST 17, 2020

The West Hancock Community School Board of Directors met in regular session in the West Hancock High School Cafeteria. Board President R. Johnson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Members present: R. Johnson, Harle, Burgardt, Abels, Deutsch, Eekhoff, and A.Johnson.

Others present: Superintendent Kronemann, Principal Peterson, Principal Verbrugge, Principal DeHart, Dir. Lansing, Dir. Goepel, reporters from Summit Tribune and Garner Leader, some staff members, Lissa Holloway, Jamie Cassels, Marcus Bruns, and Jennifer Bixel.

Motion by A. Johnson, seconded by Deutsch, to approve the items listed under the consent agenda. Carried: 7-0

Administrative reports were given.

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by Abels, to approve the district-wide goals for the 20-21 school year with changes that were discussed. Carried 7-0

Motion by A. Johnson, seconded by Eekhoff, to accept the resignation of Angela Gauden as middle school para. Carried 7-0

Motion by Burgardt, seconded by Deutsch, to approve Nicole McCoid as middle school para. Carried 7-0

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by A. Johnson, to approve Rebecca Donaghy as elementary school para. Carried 7-0

Motion by Burgardt, seconded by Deutsch, to waive the 1<sup>st</sup> reading of policy 100 and to approve the 2<sup>nd</sup> and final reading of IASB Board Administrative Changes to Policy Series 100, 400, 500, 600, and 900. Carried 7-0

Motion by A. Johnson, seconded by Deutsch, to approve Amy Larson as 2020-21 School Board Secretary and Treasurer. Oath of office was administered. Carried 7-0

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by Abels, to approve the transfer of \$13,774.11 of ESSER funds to the Nutrition Fund. Carried 7-0

Motion by Burgardt, seconded by Abels, to approve the bid of \$4,830 from Central Iowa Distributers for a new floor scrubber. Carried: 7-0

Motion by Burgardt, seconded by A. Johnson, to go into closed session per Iowa Code §21.5(1)a at 7:33p.m. Ayes: R. Johnson, Burgardt, Harle, Abels, A. Johnson, Deutsch and Eekhoff. Carried 7-0

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by A. Johnson, to adjourn closed session at 7:54 p.m. Ayes: R. Johnson, Burgardt, Harle, Abels, A. Johnson, Deutsch and Eekhoff. Carried 7-0

President R. Johnson called to resume regular session at 8:55 p.m.

Motion by A. Johnson, seconded by Burgardt, to uphold the decision of the good conduct violation. Ayes: A. Johnson, Eekhoff, Deutsch, Abels, Johnson and Burgardt. Harle abstained Carried 6-0

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by A. Johnson, to adjourn the meeting at 8:56 p.m. Carried: 7-0	
Ryan Johnson, President	Amy Larson, Board Secretary