PUBLIC HEARING ON FLEXIBILITY SPENDING JUNE 15, 2020

Board President R. Johnson called the hearing on the flexibility spending to order at 6:00 p.m.

Members present: R. Johnson, Abels, Deutsch, Eekhoff, Harle, and A. Johnson. Absent: Burgardt Others present: Superintendent Kronemann, Bus. Mgrs. Larson, Principal Verbrugge, Principal DeHart, and Principal Peterson.

There were no written or oral concerns at this time.

Motion by a Deutsch, seconded by A. Johnson, to adjourn public hearing at 6:02 p.m. Carried: 6-0

Ryan Johnson, President

Amy Larson, Board Secretary

REGULAR MEETING WEST HANCOCK BOARD OF DIRECTORS JUNE 15, 2020

The West Hancock Community School Board of Directors met in regular session in the West Hancock Middle School board room. Board President Johnson called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m.

Members present: R. Johnson, Abels, Eekhoff, Deutsch, Harle. Johnson Absent: Burgardt arrived 6:40

Others present: Superintendent Kronemann, Bus. Mgr. Larson, Principal DeHart, Principal Verbrugge, Principal Peterson and Reporter from the Summit Tribune reporter.

Motion by A. Johnson seconded by Harle, to approve the items listed under the consent agenda with a correction a to the minutes from May 27, 2020 meeting on the vote for having summer sports to 5-2 instead of 6-1. Carried: 6-0

Administrator reports were given.

Motion by A. Johnson, seconded by Deutsch, to approve Jolene Bruns as assistant softball coach. Carried 6-0

Motion by Abels, seconded by Harle, to approve Kelly Ruth Winter as high school English teacher for the 2020-2021 school year contingent on her release from her contract with North Iowa CSD. Carried 6-0

Motion by Harle, seconded by Deutsch, to approve \$105/day as a rate for substitute teachers. Carried 6-0

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by Abels, to raise the mileage rate for use of a personal vehicle to 57 cents per mile for the 2020-2021 school year. Carried: 6-0

Motion by Harle, seconded by A. Johnson, to appoint the Britt News Tribune (Summit/Tribune) as the newspaper for official publications for the 2020-2021 school year. Carried: 6-0

Motion by Harle, seconded by Deutsch, to reappoint Rick Engel as legal counsel for the 2020-2021 school year. Carried: 6-0

Motion by Deutsch, second by Eekhoff, to re appoint Jamie Kruger and Matthew Welp and to serve as Level I investigators and reappoint the Hancock County Sheriff's Office to serve as Level II investigator for the 2020-2021 school year. Carried: 6-0

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by A. Johnson, to approve the 2020-2021 handbook with changes. Carried: 7-0.

Motion by Harle, seconded by Deutsch, to approve using the services of Next Generation Technologies again for the 2020-2021 school year. Carried: 7-0

Motion by Burgardt, seconded by Eekhoff, to approve the bid for new staff computers from New Egg. Carried: 7-0

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by A. Johnson, to approve the NIACC agreements for concurrent programs, entrepreneur academy and health academy. Carried: 7-0

Motion by Burgardt seconded by Deutsch, to approve the resolution to support the spending of \$2446.90 transferred to the flexibility account. Ayes: A.Johnson, Eekhoff, Deutsch, Abels, R. Johnson, Harle, Burgardt. Nays: None

Motion by Harle, seconded by Burgardt, to approve continued taking our natural gas costs from the management fund as allowed by law. Carried 7-0

Motion by Abels, seconded by Deutsch, to approve the quote for new elementary IPADS from Apple. Carried: 7-0

Discussion on the Return to Learn Plan for the state.

Motion by Deutsch, seconded by A. Johnson, to adjourn the meeting at 8:14 p.m. Carried: 7-0

Ryan Johnson, President Amy Larson, Board Secretary